GO
  • Grid
  • List
  • Map
FILTERS FILTERS
CATEGORY
MAIN FEATURES
Distances
Golf-no preference-
Town-no preference-
Seaside-no preference-
Supermarket-no preference-
REFERENCE Nº / NAME

Self Catering Holiday Homes in Killadeas, Co. Fermanagh

Killadeas is a small village in County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland. It is 7 miles north of Enniskillen near the shores of Lower Lough Erne, and is within Fermanagh and Omagh district. Killadeas village is a 3-minute drive from our self-catering holiday cottages, Manor Holiday Cottages on the shore of Lough Erne.

Killadeas is home to Tickety Moo Ice Cream Farm. Watch the Jersey cows being milked from the indoor viewing gallery, a fascinating experience as is done automatically. See how the stalls are cleaned by a robot shovel that has a pre-programmed route and how the cows take themselves to the automatic milking machine when they feel ready. The machine latches on using laser guided pumps. The ice cream is fresh, creamy and delicious, defiantly work the visit on your next self-catering holiday Fermanagh, open from March to September.

The Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI) operates a lifeboat station on Lower Lough Erne at Killadeas. It works in conjunction with another lifeboat station on Upper Lough Erne at Carrybridge.

Located in the cemetery of the Parish Church of Killadeas are several interesting stones, probably the most noted is known as the Bishops stone, this odd shaped stone has been altered and reused several times, originally thought to have been a carved figure similar to those on nearby White Island, the body of the figure has been chiselled away and replaced with interlacing, later an ecclesiastical figure carrying a bell and crozier was carved on the western side of the stone and also the inscription "ROBARTACH" added. It is thought the stone may have also been used as a corbel at some time.

Near Killadeas, on Lower Lough Erne, is Gublusk Bay, a Royal Air Force base for Short Sunderland and PBY Catalina flying boats during World War II. Building at RAF Killadeas started in January 1941 and the first Catalinas arrived two months later. The site is now the home of the Lough Erne Yacht Club.

The Manor House, a converted and extended 19th-century country manor is sitated beside our Manor Holiday Cottages. The Killadeas Estate was acquired by Captain J. Irvine in 1660, and the Manor House, formerly known as "Rockfield" (rebuilt 1860) remained part of the Irvine Estate until 1957, when it was purchased for use as a hotel. The Manor House, which has seen many alterations to its design over the centuries, was for a brief period used as an Officer's Mess and Headquarters for the American Forces during World War II.

Order by:
  • Grid
  • List
  • Map
Showing 1 - 5 of 5 accommodations
1